McGrath Nominated for Rookie of the Year

The AJHL has released their list of award finalists for the 2016-17 season. Among the list of top performers in six categories is Lloydminster Bobcats standout goaltender Austin McGrath, who has been nominated for the Dick White – Rookie of the Year trophy.

McGrath is a native of Lloydminster who was acquired at the beginning of the season via a trade with Spruce Grove that saw '96 forward Brett Smythe sent to the Saints in exchange for McGrath and future considerations. The rookie backstop had been familiar with the Bobcats newly formed coaching staff of Travis Clayton and Taylor Holt who had coached McGrath at the Midget AAA level.

“We were familiar with his abilities and level of compete from the beginning and knew his skills would translate to a starting goaltender in this league. The nomination is a testament to the dedication that Austin shows on a daily basis to his teamates, this franchise and the community of Lloydminster,” said Head Coach and GM Travis Clayton.

Currently McGrath has won two games in a row and three of his last five, including a 2-0 shutout against the Pontiacs on Tuesday night. In 37 games McGrath has a .906 save percentage.


Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

(2016 Winner – Bobby McMann – Bonnyville Pontiacs)

    Cale Makar – Brooks Bandits
    Logan Drackett – Calgary Canucks
    Justin Young – Whitecourt Wolverines
    Ian Mitchell – Spruce Grove Saints

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels

(2016 Winner – Cale Makar – Brooks Bandits)

    Kyler Kupka – Camrose Kodiaks
    Oliver Chau – Brooks Bandits
    Jake Gresh – Bonnyville Pontiacs
    Austin McGrath – Lloydminster Bobcats

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Ford Dealers

(2016 Winner – Brinson Pasichnuk – Bonnyville Pontiacs)

    Cale Makar – Brooks Bandits
    Allan MacPherson – Calgary Canucks
    Ian Mitchell – Spruce Grove Saints
    Curtis Roach – Fort McMurray Oil Barons


Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

(2016 Winner – Matthew Murray, Spruce Grove Saints)

    Logan Drackett – Calgary Canucks
    Riley Morris – Okotoks Oilers
    Patrick Gora – Camrose Kodiaks
    Eric Szudor – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
    Pierce Diamond – Whitecourt Wolverines

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

(2016 Winner – Tyler Busch – Spruce Grove Saints)

    Ben Assad – Calgary Canucks
    Logan Ferguson – Canmore Eagles
    Ryan Symington – Bonnyville Pontiacs
    Morgan Messenger – Whitecourt Wolverines

Coach of the Year

(2016 Winner – Rick Swan – Bonnyville Pontiacs)

    James Poole – Calgary Canucks
    Andrew Milne – Canmore Eagles
    Tom Keca – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
    Gord Thibodeau – Whitecourt Wolverines

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2016-2017 AJHL Regular Season.

    Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
    Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
    Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
    Stewy Stewart Memorial Award – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
    Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
    Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award

RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country's Men's and Women's National and Olympic hockey teams, the 2011 World Junior Championship, Canada's National Junior A Championship – RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels