Bobcats Hand Out 2015-16 Awards

With the final two games of the regular season approaching this weekend, the Lloydminster Bobcats gathered on Sunday to hand out the team's annual awards.

All but one award (Top Scorer) were decided on, recognizing nine different players for their contributions to the organization this season. It's been a season to remember for the Cats, with a record-setting number of wins, and the sights now set on May's RBC Cup in Lloydminster.

Players, families, billets, sponsors, media, and team staff gathered to celebrate the season, and prior to the individual awards being handed out, the organization recognized three very deserving people for their contributions and support.

Milt Columbine of Columbine Coach Lines, the Bobcats' bus provider, and his wife Ev are both longtime Bobcats supporters. Coach Garry VanHereweghe presented Ev with her own personalized Bobcats jersey at the beginning of the ceremony.

Coach Gord Thibodeau (right) presented Coach Garry VanHerweghe with a watch to thank him for his commitment to the Bobcats organization since the 2012-13 season. Garry will be moving on from the Bobcats at the end of this season after a very successful tenure holding both coaching and management duties.

Governor and President Bryan Morrison (right) presents Business Manager Malcolm Radke with a watch as a thank you for his hard work with the organization since 2011. Initially, Malcolm was hired to look after the team's marketing, and has been a key piece of the organization's growth since the “Friends of the Bobcats” took ownership of the team approximately five years ago. Malcolm will be moving on from the Bobcats at the conclusion of this season.


Academic Athlete of the Year – Zac Giroux, Forward, Airdrie, AB

L to R: Assistant Coach Kris Wiebe, Assistant Coach Garry VanHerweghe, Zac Giroux, Head Coach Gord Thibodeau.

Community Services Award – Graydon Smith, Defenceman, Leduc, AB

Top Scorer (to be determined) – Morgan Messenger, Forward, Barrington, NS (left) and Kevin Darrar, Forward, Monroe, NJ (right)

Most Improved Player – Connor Odelein, Forward, Quill Lake, SK

Rookie of the Year – Noah Bauld, Forward, Halifax, NS

Most Dedicated Player – Taylor Mulder, Forward, Lacombe, AB

Top Defenceman – Christian Lloyd, Oakville, ON

Captains Award – Kris Spriggs, Forward, Edmonton, AB

L to R: Taylor Mulder (Captain), Ryan Chynoweth (Alternate Captain), Alex Pernitsky (Alternate Captain), Graydon Smith (Alternate Captain)

Coaches Award – Ryan Chynoweth, Forward, Cranbrook, BC

MVP – Alex Leclerc, Goaltender, Longueuil, PQ